Buddy DeFranco's Online CD Store!

Mr. Lucky

Mr. Lucky Now On Sale!
  1. Mr. Lucky
  2. Bye, Bye Blackbird
  3. Mar Descancado (The Calm Sea)
  4. In a Sentimental Mood
  5. Your Smile
  6. Close Enough for Love
  7. Danielle
  8. Lolita's Theme

Produced by Buddy DeFranco and Joyce DeFranco On the Pablo Label

It is difficult for many listeners to get a handle on Buddy DeFranco. As a young man he was a clarinetist with virtuosity so dazzling that he was able to adapt the instrument to the demands of bebop. His playing on "A Bird in Igor's Yard" with the most iconoclastic of bands, the Boyd Raeburn Orchestra, is a classic of big band bop. In total contrast, his career has included leadership of that bastion of smoothness and predictability, the Glenn Miller Orchestra. Among many other manifestations of his versatility, he shared leadership of a small group with Art Blakely and introduced Nelson Riddle's "Cross County Suite." It is not useful--or possible--to assign Mr. De Franco to a pigeonhole. In this collection, accompanied by a superb quartet, categories are the last thing on his mind. The first is the pleasure of making music. DeFranco's associates include the brilliant pianist Albert Dailey in one of his last recordings.